A Tiling Tale

It is not a secret that Jeremy’s expertise has made this renovation possible. I am humbled every day by his courage, intelligence and utter skill when it comes to the projects we’ve encountered. From the beginning, however, about the time when I was given the title of “CEO of Aesthetics”, I knew that the finish and detail work would be mine to own. And in the last month, I have been kicked in the keister repeatedly with frustration regarding the detail work.

One of the main reasons I have always wanted to have an old home is to have a vintage bathroom. I love the white subway wall tile and white hexagon floor tile of turn-of-the-century bathrooms, of which I have enjoyed immensely in rentals throughout my eleven years in Cleveland. When I first saw our bathroom here with its disgusting green-patterned melamine walls, completely DIFFERENT green-patterned vinyl floors and the hideous mildew on the ceiling from a lack of a bathroom fan, I knew that this bathroom was screaming to be restored to its rightful turn-of-the-century glory. And finally, it is on its way.

That’s not to say that it has been easy. (When we’re finished, I’ll post a true before-and-after to show the entire process.) The hardest part of the transformation is to tile a room that is not plumb nor square and to get everything visually pleasing. I have had several breakdowns involving the bathroom floor alone because of the level of difficulty involved. The floor slopes, slants, and back again. And that’s nothing compared to what we had to do with the window in the shower.

Below are a few details of that shower window. Below those is a link to our Flickr page where more tiling detail pics are uploaded. As you enjoy them, know that much time, blood, sweat and tears have been shed to get to the photo you’re looking at.

Oh, I’m so not kidding.

An unlevel window frame

 The window in the shower was placed oddly in the original window frame. In order for me to start tiling this, Jeremy had to help me reframe the window. If you can’t notice the angles at the top, let me reassure you – they are way-wonky.

Waterproofing a window

After the window was reframed, I used asphalt felt (normally used in roofing) to waterproof the area around the window. This was attached to the surrounding cement board with construction adhesive.

For further images of how this tiling effort came out, and to see the progress of the floor and walls, head over to the Flickr page here:

A Tiling Tale.

Published in: on August 10, 2008 at 9:34 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ourfirstrenovation.wordpress.com/2008/08/10/a-tiling-tale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

